What is a DRA J-1 Waiver?

The Delta Regional Authority (DRA) is a Federal-State partnership whose mission it is to improve the quality of life for the residents of the Mississippi River Delta Region. The DRA serves 252 counties and parishes in parts of eight states: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.

In order to increase access to quality healthcare in Delta communities, the DRA has implemented the Delta Doctors program, which allows foreign physicians who are trained in this country to work in medically underserved areas for three years through a J-1 visa waiver. The DRA will support both primary care and specialty medicine doctors who agree to work in HPSAs and MUPs/MUAs. The doctor’s worksites are required to be located in DRA counties. However, the DRA will sometimes consider applications for locations outside the DRA if the employer can demonstrate people residing in the DRA will be better served with the services provided by the J-1 waiver physician.

The DRA charges an application fee of $3,000, but it is known for quickly reviewing applications. Waiver applications typically are adjudicated within a few weeks.

Interested to know if you qualify for a DRA waiver or what other options you have? Please feel free to schedule a free initial consultation with our office.

Contact Request

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.